Guitar cake

 

I was asked with two days’ notice to produce a chocolate guitar shaped cake for about 15 people. I was so excited about his project I didn’t even flinch about the lack of time! This design features handpainted detail on the guitar and banner and edible glitter.

Here’s how it turned out:

Guitar cake

Guitar cake

 

Guitar cake - painted wood panel effect close up

Guitar cake – painted wood panel effect close up

Guitar cake

Guitar cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How I did it:

  1. Shape the cake: I cut out the Guitar cake pattern and placed it on top my baked, cold cake (refrigerating  your cake makes carving easier); With a serrated knife carefullycarve the extra cake around the pattern. Cut a 25 cm by 12,5 cm rectangle of cake and position it on top of the smallest part of the guitar body.  You can find the
  2. I then sliced the cake horizontally and filled and crum coated it with frosting.
  3. I covered the guitar’s main body in brown fondant and the extra rectangle in black fondant.
  4. Using the guitar pattern, I cut ou thin sheet of white fondant and placed it on top of the guitar body.
  5. Using vodka and edible brown colouring powder I handpainted the white panel with a very small powder concentration first. After the first coat, gradually mix in more powder in the alcohol to create fine streaks.
  6. I cut a long strip of black fondant, about 12,5  x 35 cm and made horizontal indentations. I then placed it on top of the guitar’s “arm” and partially on the body.
  7. I made strings by rolling out white fondant.
  8. The “happy birthday” banner was handpainted using super black gel food coloring.
  9. The half-moon detail was a piece of thin white fondant covered in edible silver glitter.

    Guitar cake

    Guitar cake

Guitar cake - Banner close up

Guitar cake – Banner close up

Leave a Reply

